Mice and crackers and shoes, Oh My!


“Unless it poops droppings as big as pool balls I ain’t paying it no attention.” These were my words to Carolyn when she awakened me in the middle of the night and said there is a mouse in the house. She heard it rattling papers in the trash can on my side of the bed. A few moments later she turned on her lamp and I felt the air of one of her shoes whizzing by my head. Clunk; thunk. I rolled over on my back and in a few minutes we again heard the trash can rattle. Woosh ! The other shoe barely missed my nose. Whap; bang.  This must have been all mousey could stand because after another hour long vigil by Carolyn he was no longer heard. The law has been laid down to me: No more eating a snack at bedtime. It was only a package of Lance peanut butter crackers but now I am denied even that small indulgence. She has banished my trashcan so henceforth I will  have to sneak my snack before she comes home from work each evening and hide the wrapper under my pillow until morning.
This morning my bride offhandedly asked me “where are these mice coming from?” I thought for a moment and told her “Hobos”. Then I had to explain that science has found a new off-shoot of the regular house-mouse species that has begun catching rides on trains as they move about the land. I told her it wasn’t uncommon these days to see a bunch of mice sitting on top of boxcars as they went rumbling down the tracks. The mice sleep at night inside the freight cars and ride all day in the sunshine. When they get hungry, they jump off the train and visit houses such as ours along the tracks and I told her that the mouse would soon miss his wayward life and go hitch on the next train that stopped at at the nearby siding, all just like human hobos once did.

Well, it is April Fools day so what was I supposed to tell her; go buy a trap and kill the little critter?

Published in: on April 1, 2014 at 2:54 pm  Comments (7)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://looselaces.wordpress.com/2014/04/01/of-mice-and-crackers/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Superbly written. I will come back here tomorrow. 🙂
    xo

    • Thanks, Jola. 🙂

  2. Oh those mice and rats they love peanut butter better then cheese. We had that problem, hate to put out poison so used traps but once one dies in a trap the others know there is death there and they will not go near it. finally had to use poison, what a smell and you can’t find them. Have not had any more in a while but do have ant scouts looking around now and then in the kitchen , they don’t like vinegar
    Maybe mice don’t like it either ?.

    • Yeah, the mice that die from poison and stink up the house are bad.
      I’ll try to rig up a vinegar deterrent for them in the kitchen.
      Thanks, Sandy. 🙂

  3. If you hide the wrapper under your pillow the mouse will be in your bed. 😉

    • Before I met my husband Don he lived in a house that had some huge rats in the back store room, one ate some plaster of Paris and became petrified, he had a knife next to his bed for some reason and a rat ran across his head and he grabbed the knife and threw it at the rat and hit it, just chance. finally had to put out a lot of poison.

  4. When rats die from poison the smell is awful. It takes a very very long time to go away. I can’t imagine mice stink is any better.

    With all the trains going by my house we must have the same hobos. I’ll look for one going your way and send you gift.


Leave a Reply

