In perfect harmony


This Coca-Cola Super Bowl commercial brings me unbound pleasure in the superb multilingual lyrics and the diversity of American cultures shown. The part which pleases me most about it is that it has pissed off so many conservatives, including rednecks, Jim Crows, and tea partiers. These jerks claim that all Americans should speak nothing but some form of English. Many think “America the Beautiful” is the national anthem of the United States of America. It isn’t. Some decry the ad because it shows gay Americans. Little do they know that the woman whom wrote this wonderful song, Katharine Lee Bates, was an American lesbian. I suppose that some folks lives are so poorly lived that they have to find someone to hate so as not to dislike themselves so much. To them I say “have a Coke or a Pepsi or whatever you prefer and enjoy whom and what America stands for and whom and what it really is above your lowest wishes and highest expectations”.

Published in: on February 5, 2014 at 1:56 pm  Comments (9)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://looselaces.wordpress.com/2014/02/05/in-perfect-harmony/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wikipedia note
    What a beautiful story of this song. Thanks, my friend.
    xo

    • You are welcome, Jola. 🙂

  2. AMEN AND AMEN !

  3. This is a beautiful commercial and the amount of ignorance showed by “my fellow Americans” is truly stunning. Is it really any wonder that so many people around the world do not like Americans.

    The commercial makes me proud and so many reactions make sad.

    • I agree with you on this, and I just talked to one of those who thinks foreigners are destroying our White country, She is 87 years old.
      every thing wrong is Obama’s fault and he really is not an American . She gets her News from FOX.
      I had a falling out before the last election with a friend of 64 years, she told me I just did not read or watch the right things concerning Obama that he was going to turn us into a Muslim country. I got so mad I have not spoken to her since . The women I talked to this morning is a long time neighbor, I try to reason with her but her mind is set on what she wants to believe, It is sad that there are so many that have come out of the woodwork in the last 5 or 6 years, huh ?
      We got 2 inches of rain last week, better then nothing, hope that dry spell is broken, ……southern California is a desert with out water.

      • Obama has not been a great president, trying too hard to compromise with a congress that hates him but he is the best the two parties offered. For the most part, I think his heart is in the right place but he is trying to appease too many differences. FOX News is a part of the problem and offers no solutions.
        FGlad you got the rain; hope you can get some of our snow, too.
        Thanks, Sandy.

      • We ion the North coast have a flood warning 10 to 12 inches in a short amount of time, has not happened yet. redwoods are shallow rooted trees believe it or not and topple over in these kind of storms on to the Highways, so between that and being between to rivers, it sometimes puts us on an island ! We are prepared, I hope ! Keep warm.
        Sandy

      • I hope the big trees stay upright and the flooding was not too bad. I can but imagine what one of those giant trees would do to a vehicle if it fell on it.
        Thanks Sandy and stay dry.

    • Even I was surprised at the negativity this ad caused. A house this divided cannot long stand.
      Thanks, Mark.


Leave a Reply

