For what it’s worth


Last Sunday I committed the sin of sins. Last Sunday I forgot that it was my bride’s and my wedding anniversary. It was the first time in forty-nine years that I have forgotten it. The only thing that saved me from stormy feminine wrath is that Carolyn also forgot it. She always forgets it. However, I could tell that she was disappointed that I did forget.  I too am ill at ease about it. It is bad enough to forget but I just do not feel that I am old enough to be losing so much memory so quickly. Scary it is.

Been off methotrexate for two weeks now and I am feeling it. Sore fingers feel like sausage links, swollen joints reducing circulation and it is ten days to go until surgery and two weeks after that before i can go back on the pills. Then it will be three or four more weeks before they are once more effective. “I am a man of constant sorrow” but if I forget another anniversary, I will have to start drinking alcohol again for solace and that will ease some RA pain, too.

Published in: on July 6, 2013 at 6:26 pm  Comments (5)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://looselaces.wordpress.com/2013/07/06/for-what-its-worth/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Last Sunday, so it was 30 of June. Forty nine years. That’s great, my friend. My congrats on your wedding anniversary and my best wishes for both of you. 🙂
    You will not forget another anniversary and you will not start drinking alcohol again. You will good boy. 😉 BTW, I wonder how I could tolerate alcohol in my house in past. Fortunately it ended up definitely in 2005. What a relief!
    xo

    • I even got the date wrong on the blog; it was actually last Saturday, June 29th. :-\
      Nope, no more heavy drinking for me although I do like a few beers now and then.
      Thank you, Jola. 🙂

  2. In my case it was also Saturday, October12th. 31 years. Am I happy? 😉

  3. Ooops


Leave a Reply

