Obtuse reason


early thimble (from internet)

Our American middle-class capital economy is heading into a new recession. This is my forecast based on what I am seeing. We are once more spending our savings or going into debt for mostly unneeded big ticket items, Wall Street is tickled, the stock market is soaring; all a sign of a coming slowdown. Wages are static or falling, few good paying jobs are being created, more and more jobs are being exported, more Americans are suffering and dying because of lack of health insurance, infrastructure is still falling apart, and federal government is in partisan deadlock. Americans are talking but few are walking. Wake up America!

I’m hoping tomorrow’s echocardiogram is all I have to go through before surgery. I do not want another stress test and I damn sure don’t want a heart catheterization. The latter may mean an overnight stay in hospital but I barely will be able to afford the knee replacement. Life is a trap.

Goodbye psychiatrist Dr. Sidney Freedman (Allan Arbus). He was my favorite M*A*S*H actor with my favorite quote from the series: “Ladies and gentlemen, take my advice, pull down your pants and slide on the ice.” I think it means that we should take time to live.

I’m not as pretty today as I was day before yesterday.

On this date in 1684, a patent was granted for the thimble.

Thursday all day.

 

Published in: on April 25, 2013 at 1:30 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://looselaces.wordpress.com/2013/04/25/obtuse-reason/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Situation in Poland is not good too. People limit their expenses. Many of them lost their job.
    I hope your heart is strong and healthy, my friend.
    Early thimble seems to be a bit heavy. I haven’t realized that people started using it in 17th century.
    Yes … we should take time to live. I would like to change my life, I work too much. 😦
    xo

    • I don’t know that the world’s best taxpayers can stand another big depression. Taxes, tariffs, surcharges, and fees by government is taking a dogged bite out of wages now. They want us to work more for less as you well know.
      Thimbles have been used since early bible times at least. I recall Genesis saying that Eve used one to sew fig leaves together. 🙂
      Thanks, Jola. 🙂

  2. The picture of the thimble looks like a piece of pottery.

    The economy makes absolutely no sense at all. Everything you said is true. The next collapse will make our current one look small. Wages need to increase rapidly to get things on the right track.

    Corporations can save all their money and not pay their employees but when the next crash happens that money will not save them.

    I do not like where we are going and our dear leader is becoming the worst President in my lifetime. He has no convictions or backbone.

    A sad state of affairs.

    I am going to drown my sorrows in a hot shower.

    • Some things are happening right now just like they did around 2005. For one, competition is being strangled by more and more consolidations in core manufacturing with much of it going to foreign companies and states. 2008 is what happens next … again.
      Thanks, mark.


Leave a Reply

