Ides and comets and no. 13 … oh my!


Gulf Fritillary on Zinia

Gulf Fritillary on Zinia

Portends! Portends of doom and gloom! How often do we have a great comet stealing across our evening sky at the same time the Ides of March are in their death throes?* Even worse, Friday the 13th is here today—a Wednesday. The Holy Roman Church has no leader and my roof still leaks. Fate has dealt us a losing hand this month. Portends!

Have a safe day, my friends and don’t blame the messenger if your luck turns bad.

*This happened once before in recorded history in the year 607 and we all remember how terrible that year was.

 

Published in: on March 13, 2013 at 12:12 pm  Comments (5)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://looselaces.wordpress.com/2013/03/13/ides-and-comets-and-no-13-oh-my/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It was a WHITE smoke at 7.05 pm. I was watching TV news and waiting until HE (a new Pope) appears on the balcony.
    Pope from Argentine. Pope Francis I. 76 years old. So modest man. A nice smile. A nice voice. He speaks Spanish, Italian, German, and Latin. I would like to trust God that it was a good choice.
    What about this roof? Hope the water is not dripping on your head, my friend. You’re in so good mood today. I like it. Your photo is beautiful. 🙂
    xo

    • I think that if the world sees him as a good choice, he will be fine. I suppose I should tutor him in Hillbilly language.
      The leak so far is just ceiling stains but it needs to be fixed asap. What makes you think I’m in a good mood today?
      Thanks, Jola. 🙂

      • I felt it when I was reading your words and when I was looking at your beautiful photo. 🙂

  2. Very interesting choice. A son of Italian immigrants as the new Pope. A European who is not European, Spanish speaking amongst other languages. Nope, no politics there.

    Cool and very windy today. Not like last spring.

    • Heh-heh! First thing I noticed was his Italian name. At lest they didn’t run TV ads and have debates before he was elected like in US politics.
      Thanks, Mark.


Leave a Reply

