The comets are coming.


Sunset

Sunset

Snow; at least it had the decency to lay on the ground this time. Supposed to be 66°F (18.9C) by this weekend. If so, I will do a springtime Irish jig while on my crutches!

We should have a good year for naked-eye comets if you like such things and no one likes them more than I. Early next week should be good viewing of comet Pan-STARRS in the Northern Hemisphere. View west just after sunset and it should be easily visible. To add to my boyish excitement, comet ISON should be about as bright as the moon as it sweeps by the sun and earth in November. I’ve seen a few comets in my days (nights) but ISON should be the best one yet. November is the time for the Leonid meteor shower, also. However, it will peak during full moon and won’t be as spectacular as it sometimes is. Nothing arouses my senses of wondering and humility as does the night sky.

Photo is from the community where I grew up. There are only four of the old homes being lived in. This one was the Rome Sifford house; I used to sit on the front porch here and listen to school-day stories from the early 1900’s.

Have a good Wednesday, y’all!

Published in: on March 6, 2013 at 1:03 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://looselaces.wordpress.com/2013/03/06/the-comets-are-coming/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I must admit I don’t know how to “read” the night sky. For me it’s simply: a dark background plus many bright dots. But I love what you wrote my friend: “Nothing arouses my senses of wondering and humility as does the night sky”.
    I would like to see you doing a springtime Irish jig … on your crutches, of course. 🙂
    Photo “Sunset” is beautiful.
    xo

    • I even love all the Arabic names for the stars: Deneb, Al-Dabaran, Darb Al-Tabanah (Milky Way) and many more.
      I used to jig a bit before I grew the crutches.
      Thanks, Jola. 🙂

  2. I like the picture with the field around the house. Amazes me when you see long abandoned homes you almost always see a “No Tresspassinf” sign.

    I’ll have to keep an eye to the sky next week. If I remember. Already have CRS, Can’t Remember Shi*.

    • I think the no trespassing signs are for insurance purposes in a lot of cases.
      Thanks, I had forgotten about the comet.


Leave a Reply

