Pickled okra


Maybe a little snow tonight; temperature around 20F — -6.7C. So much for last week’s spring-like feel.

Supper last night: Hunk of mild cheddar cheese, hunk of summer sausage, pickled okra, crackers.

I’m reading a very good book titled Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore. One of the best reads I’ve had in quite awhile. I recently finished Rendezvous With Rama, a popular science-fiction novel from the early 1970’s.

Have a warm Thursday … if possible.

Published in: on January 17, 2013 at 10:59 am  Comments (9)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://looselaces.wordpress.com/2013/01/17/pickled-okra/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. -6.7C?! It’s cold, my friend. The same temperature (only a bit higher) is in Poland now. I wear my heavy coat ans shoes.
    I have have never eaten ‘okra’. I had to check in wiki how such vegetable looks. ‘Summer sausage’ is also a bit mysterious for me. Have you other sausages: spring, autumnal, wintry? I suspect that my question is rather stupid. 😉
    Anyway the supper was v. good!
    Have a great reading.
    xo

    • We country folk call it “okry”; I like it best when it’s breaded and fried.
      “Summer sausage” is mostly eaten at winter holiday parties or as a snack food in my part of the world. It is usually a “cured” sausage that can be kept unrefrigerated in summertime. We made pork sausage at hog killing time in cold late-autumn days. My grandmother usually fried it and canned it for year-long use. We eat a type Polish sausage (kiełbasa) year around, but it is always bought from the store.
      Thanks, Jola. 🙂

      • We have white sausage (we eat it on Easter), smoked sausage (the most popular) and rather expensive dry sausage. I like smoked sausage flavoured with garlic. My grandmother’s sausages were the best. I could even eat a piece of such warm sausage, taken straight from the barrel where it was smoked.
        Like it: a “cured” sausage. 🙂

      • I suppose our summer sausage is about same as your dry sausage. Curing is dry preserving with salt, sugar, smoke, etc.
        Nothing like eating at grandma’s house is there? 🙂
        Thanks, Jola. 🙂

  2. You have had more winter weather than we have for sure. The mountains definitely have a major affect on the weather in Greensboro. Never had pickled okra. Not sure how I feel about it.

    • The weather is usually different on one side of the mountains than the other.
      Pickled okra ain’t bad with beer and cheese and crackers. I wouldn’t want to make a meal on the okra alone.
      Thanks, Mark.

  3. cheese/crackers are so yummy with a hot bowl of soup. Okry is best fried, I’ll agree. It is rather good in gumbo too as we make sometimes down in the south. Sausage is not my favorite food and I avoid hot dogs but I’d love to try one of Jola’s grandmothers sausages, I’ll bet they were wonderful. I haven’t read that book, but will put it on my list. I recently read Life of Pi (haven’t seen the movie) which was a very thought-provoking story. can you put pickled okra in a salad? Mike and I made a batch of pickled beets and they are super in a salad (Mark hates beets). Sammy is so cute. have a good week.

    • I’ve never had gumbo but would like to try it, sans chicken. I like my sausage spicy and I can take hot dogs or not; preferably not. Polish sausage with sauerkraut, brown beans, mashed taters, and biscuits make a good meal.
      The book is a bit nerdy due to some computer lingo but so far it is a good story, too. I almost bought Life of Pi but the price was too much for an e-book. I suppose pickled okra would be ok in a salad but I would make sure it is well drained first. I like pickled beets with beans and in salads.
      Thanks, Tammy.

  4. Outlaw beets. 🙂


Leave a Reply

