The Holidays begin … the Year begins to end


The Occupy movement is still paying dividends. We got word today that one of Bank of America’s two branches in Johnson City will be closing in February. Credit unions and small local or regionally owned banks are doing good here, especially credit unions; new branches are popping up everywhere. I can’t help but think that Occupy’s calling attention to the misdeeds of cold, corporate Wall Street entities had at least something to do with this. Our local Occupy picketed Bank of America more than once last year.

Did you ask me what the worst song I ever heard was, excluding opera? In case you did and I forgot to reply, it is Achy Breaky Heart. That song shakes my nerves and rattles my brain. I hate the song, I hate the singer, I hate the song writer, and I especially hate line dancing. Line dancing would puke a buzzard off of a gut wagon. As for opera, I just plain don’t understand Italian lyrics and I don’t know why they have to scream them. I understand screaming vocals at a rock concert but why do opera singers have to yell their words to a hushed audience. Recently, I have found one fine exception; it is a commercial jingle on TV for J. G. Wentworth. High Opera at its best!

Have a good Thanksgiving, my friends … where ever you are.

Published in: on November 21, 2012 at 1:53 pm  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://looselaces.wordpress.com/2012/11/21/the-holidays-begin-the-year-begins-to-end/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Every year I enjoy your Thanksgiving Day . It’s a beautiful holiday. I’m glad I’ve managed return home before 4th Thursday of November, so important day for my American friends.
    Happy Thanksgiving. πŸ™‚

    • Glad to have you back home safe and sound. You can celebrate with us. πŸ™‚

  2. Happy Thanksgiving Ken, Carolyn and your family!

    • Thank you Alice. Hope all of you are having a great day. Nick has grown into a good looking man and I well remember your living room in the pic. πŸ™‚

  3. Hope you and the family had a Happy Thanksgiving.

    I don’t get opera and female opera singers are worse than a thousand fingernails clawing their way across a blackboard, IMHO.

    Occupy is still going and they definitely had an effect on banking. Maybe not what was wanted but it is a start. I know credit unions have benefited. Occupy NY has become Occupy Sandy and are doing some great work in NY/NJ.

  4. While conservatives want to tinkle down on the 99%, Occupy seems to be working across the middle class and poor. They need to keep their individual identities but they should have some consolidation with all the other progressive movements across the land, and there are a bunch of them.
    Thanks, Mark.

  5. Hopefully Occupy is slowly finding footing on another level. It seems that may be what is happening.

    • Occupy has done well by getting people’s attention.
      Thanks, Mark.


Leave a Reply

