Happy Birthday, Alice!


Original site of Tweetsie RR line

Happy Birthday, Alice. Are your years weighing as heavily on your shoulders as mine are for me?  We got at least twenty more years to go.

I can remember when employees were considered as a company’s best assets; now they are treated like unwanted overhead.

I’ve about decided to drop my Netflix subscription and go with Amazon Prime. Amazon doesn’t have as many movies but they have several for streaming that Netflix doesn’t, such as L.A. Confidential, Logan’s Run, and several others I like.Amazon is also a bit cheaper and has newer releases which I can rent for a night or even buy for cloud storage at a discount. I also get free two-day shipping on any merchandise I order which is sold by Amazon store.

Have a wonderful Worshday!

Published in: on October 15, 2012 at 1:06 pm  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://looselaces.wordpress.com/2012/10/15/happy-birthday-alice-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thanks Ken.
    Yes, employees are being treated badly. I am losing my Siemens Retirement medical Insurance in January. I hope to live at least 20 more years. Hopefully to stay in as good health as I have now.

    • America has lost its purpose and I don’t see it being much better for a long time. Sometimes I am sad because my health isn’t very good, but then I think of the alternative and smile.
      Thanks, Alice.

  2. There are not such “things” like Netflix or Amazon Prime in Poland. I simply buy and watch DVD movies.
    Love your photo of Tweetsie RR line. What a nice word: Tweetsie. It’s like a gentle kiss: Tweetsie. 🙂
    Happy birthday dear Alice!
    xo

    • Thank you Jelon for the Birthday wish.

    • The history of Tweetsie is as a gentle kiss to the mountain people.
      Thanks, Jola. 🙂

  3. Netflix still works for me. Of course I have been with them since 2001 so I am invested in them you might say.

    Employees are just then means for the rich to get richer and we really do not count anymore. It is a sad situation. i wonder what will cause this to change.

    I like the railroad shoot.

    • I still like Netflix but Amazon on the Roku is a bit better for me.
      I think many more manufacturing jobs where skilled and semi-skilled workers are needed could help change things.
      Thanks, Mark.


Leave a Reply

