Yesterday


“Yesterday when I was young …”

Yesterday was one of the oldest days I can remember having. I felt bad getting out of bed; tired and listless and heavy. Got my shower using a bar of Tammy’s fine soap which was a pick-me up. Then it was off to the post office to get my social security check and, for the first time that I can recall, it wasn’t there. That was a bummer because Carolyn and I had planned to get away from home for a night or two but being broke put a snafu on that. We went on and did some more errands and then she took me for my RA doc’s appointment. It went well except for the joint twisting which she always does; this time it hurt more than usual. Carolyn had take-out burgers from the Cottage waiting when the doctor was done with me which we drove to a shady spot at the Veteran’s Administration grounds to eat. Then it was off to run some errands for Ashley and finally back home by early evening. It wasn’t too long before I was in bed asleep. I felt a lot older than my 68 years and to top that, the infected blister on my bunion decided to swell and be very sore.

A few good things from the day, though. I got to see Sammy twice; the burger from the Cottage was better than usual; I woke up this morning feeling a lot better.

Have a good Saturday and Sunday!

Published in: on September 1, 2012 at 12:16 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://looselaces.wordpress.com/2012/09/01/yesterday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. How could it happen that you didn’t get your social security check? Did you try to explain it? Did you call them?
    I was right when I was afraid that your buying shoes on the wouldn’t be the best solution. I buy different things on the net; except shoes! My feet are gentle so it would be too risky for me. I must have really comfortable shoes, and I must check it while buying them at the shop (real shop). Please be good for your feet, my friend, and please do not worry about your age. You are youngster. 🙂
    Song is beautiful!
    xo

    • I will find out Tuesday why my check did not come; it is very unusual.
      My shoes are fine; it is my feet that are the problem. I will have take a pic of them so you can see what I mean. All my shoes do this until I get them stretched.
      Thank you, Jola. 🙂

      • I thought everyone had to use direct deposit.
        Have you thought about that.
        That works better than the Post office.

      • Beginning in March next year, there will be no more paper checks mailed. I don’t even have a checking account; I don’t trust banks. I guess I will be getting an account. I had direct deposit for many years.
        Thanks, Alice. 🙂


Leave a Reply

