Summer’s end


One of the bridges which is located in a part of Warsaw’s Łazienki park called ‘Ogród Belwederski’. Jola’s photo.

 

I like making photos in late summer. Weather has usually moderated to where it isn’t too hot to spend some time in the sun and humidity isn’t so oppressive to keep us reaching for a hanky or bandanna to wipe our faces. And then there is the sunlight which speaks of summer’s end. The lower seasonal angle of the sun along with thousands of leaves have softened the bright sunlight and bestowed that peaceful, easy feeling that is the hallmark of warm weather. Lots of open lawn, a whispering stream with hungry ducks, and kids to enjoy it; what could be better for soul-survival of young and old? Thank you Jola for allowing me to use your fine photo.

I bought Sammy his first real book; Shel Silverstein’s A Giraffe and a Half. Now to get him still long enough to read it to him.

Not much planned this weekend; I am have a bit of fluid buildup and do not feel the greatest but it ain’t near as bad as it was when the RA pills were not helping.

Have a great Saturday!

Published in: on August 25, 2012 at 9:59 am  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://looselaces.wordpress.com/2012/08/25/summers-end/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thanks that you described us the light which speaks of summer’s end, dear friend. I love August. It’s time of pilgrimages in my country. I hope you heard about Polish famous shrine Jasna Góra. Catholicism is mystical religion.
    Love the book you bought for Sammy. I will post it on my Google+. 🙂
    Please take care of yourself.
    xo

    • I did not know of Jasna Góra Monastery, but I do know of the Black Madonna icon that it is home to. I remember reading about it many years ago. Thank you for linking this for us.
      The book even made me smile.
      Thanks, Jola. 🙂

  2. I like the picture of the bridge. Looks like a nice park.

    Yup, weather getting nice. Time for some roadtrips. Mountains are on the agenda. I think the Outer Banks are coming soon also.

    Good luck keeping Sammy still.

    • I’d like to see the ocean once more before I get too old or too dead to care. The Outer Banks have been on my ‘to see’ list since high school.
      Thanks, Mark.


Leave a Reply

