Birthday Buddy


In about three months, Keegan will be home on leave for a while, then off to Germany. Hope he can stay away from Afghanistan.

Perfection! The moment we awaken each morning is perfect; everything is fresh and nothing is required … but only for a moment and then life reasserts itself. If we can but stretch the essence of that fleeting second to last throughout our waking day we shall have found heaven.

I know it is big argumentative, but my pick of the three best musical performers of the late hippie age were Jim Morrison, Jimi Hendrix, and Janis Joplin. I believe that Janis performing with Big Brother and the Holding Company was the best electric blues ever performed.

Papaw’s Big Birthday Boy

Happy Birthday, Little Buddy!

Have a Tuesday!

Published in: on July 3, 2012 at 10:41 am  Comments (10)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://looselaces.wordpress.com/2012/07/03/birthday-buddy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Happy Birthday Sammy. Ken, I think he has your eyes. He is really Handsome.

    • Thanks, Alice.
      Some say he favors me more than anyone else in the family.
      πŸ™‚

  2. Sammy looks here as he was two or three years old. He is really sweet. Happy birthday Sammy. πŸ™‚ It’s not easy for me to get up at 6 am every day but I must admit I enjoy every day. Especially summer days are beautiful.
    Love the video. Janis Joplin was great. D. has all of her compact discs.
    xo

    • Doctor said Sammy is a little bit advanced for his age.
      I hope D. plays Janis a lot.
      Thanks, Jola. πŸ™‚

  3. I agree, the first waking moment of the day is complete perfection. IT is during that time I say my prayers and ask for help and guidance through the day. I’m not a godfearing type person but think a quiet positive loving though shot out to the universe of “us” cannot hurt at all! Sammy is growing fast!! he looks like peaches and cream. I would have loved to have heard Janis and Jimmy as they matured in their music. Carlos Santana is one of those musicians who has aged so wonderfully and grown into his music.. I think the same would have been true for Janis & Jimmy.

    • The awareness to “be” is the great part of the waking instant. You can be anyone, any place, any time, or you can just “be” for that moment.
      Carlos has pretty much conquered everything in the music world. I still like his early stuff best. Woodstock was definitely good for his career.
      Thanks, Tammy.

  4. I just read yesterday’s post. My friend, I have taken a pay cut in half in taking this job. I try to keep a positive outlook and find the sunny side. If I let my dark side take over, I’ll go on a rampage. Right now the work is harde but supposedly I have a bit more “freedom” in my day to work the hours that I want; unfortunately, if I don’t start at 7, skip lunch and work till 5 or later… I cannot finish the work. Maybe it will get better as I learn how to navigate their system more efficiently, It is one of my prayers in the waking hours of the day. I struggle to hold onto my whimsy.. sigh. I am wondering if my legs are still good enough to work a restraunt job wearing short-shorts.. πŸ˜‰

    • I knew you had taken a cut in pay but not such a bad one. If anyone can conquer it, you will. I suppose your legs will bring in many tips and touches if you should work a restaurant. I hope the new job works out for you but I would be looking for similar but better as i go along.
      Thanks, Tammy

  5. Sammy does favor you. i say quite a bit judging by this picture.

    I like the morning most, on my days off.

    Who to pick from those three? I know so much about Jimi and Jim and no where near as much about Janis. Jimi and Jim were at a crossroads that I think would have revealed so much more that it is hard to imagine.

    • Janis was voted by some dregs as the ugliest man in her high school. She had a fight on her hands just getting out of Texas and into the limelight. She was bi-sexual and out spoken and I don’t know of her holding a grudge against anyone. Had she lived, I can imagine her being very active in politics.
      Thanks, Mark.


Leave a Reply

