Hometime


Going home

You are aware that I write about my childhood memories and I do try to keep most of them as accurate as possible. Like most everyone, I tend to see those innocent days through rose colored glasses and at times I write what I think my life was instead of what it probably was. However, most of the old-time recollections are true, but at times I take a biblical cue and say them in a metaphorical sense. Every once in a while I wish I had a time machine to take me back and have a look at myself in the first half of the 1950s and then bring me back to the present. It is a mental exercise only as it is obvious that backward time travel is very, very improbable. If it were possible, it seems we would be up to our ears in tourists from the future and I’ve never met one of them I knew for sure was time-traveling although I’ve suspicioned a few; maybe inside their own heads some were. Anyway, if I could go back why would I want to return here; I love each and everyone of you but if my memories of a Golden Age of misty spring morns, honey bees and apple blossoms, sunny lilac days, and lingering, honey-suckle evenings are even half-way accurate, I would say a teary adios and—hopefully—never glance back this way unless one of you hits a big lottery. But, as author Thomas Wolfe wrote, “you can’t go home again”. Anyway, I wouldn’t want to live the same life over and I don’t cavort with paradoxes. So be it. If you’ve never read Wolfe’s book, think about putting it on your “to read” list.

Have a great mid-week!

Published in: on March 28, 2012 at 9:41 am  Comments (10)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://looselaces.wordpress.com/2012/03/28/hometime/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I don’t know if miss my youthful years or not, but when my daughter posted on FB one of the photos of me, taken in my youth, I was very moved.
    Hope you can follow this link:
    http://www.facebook.com/#!/photo.php?fbid=201205227684&set=a.201115697684.132856.706087684&type=3&theater
    I love your memories, Ken, but I wouldn’t like to lose YOU during one of your journeys in time. Please be with us!
    Photo of young ladies, their babies, the road and the mail boxes is great.
    As for yesterday Tammy’s apple dumpling it remind me the dumplings I could eat in Lithuania. Very delicious.
    xo

    • If one day I could set up my own restaurant I would name one of the meals: Jabłkowy pieróg Tammy. It would be lovely. 🙂

      • Apple pie Tammy; very tasty, no doubt. 🙂

  2. You look like a teenager in the photo; you had curly hair? Auschwitz; a place most people of my generation know of all too well. Just one of of many of Hitler’s “final solution” prisons.
    The photo is but a snapshot from the front porch.
    Apples and apple deserts must be a favorite all over the world. I like fresh apple chunks in lettuce and cottage cheese salads topped with a a pineapple ring and a dab of mayonnaise.
    Thanks, Jola. 🙂

    • It was 1982. I was 21 years old, and I just got married. Auschwitz was our journey in a time machine.
      O … I simply had a lot of hair when was young. And I was tiny; only 49 kilograms.;-)
      Love your salad. In my restaurant it would be Dietetyczna sałatka Ken, z jabłkiem, serem, ananasem i odrobiną majonezu.

      • Maybe in my youth I could have tolerated visiting Auschwitz.
        You weighed about the same as my mom did when she was in her 20s.
        Hope you open an American branch of your restaurant; Americans love to try new foods and new restaurants. I’ll be there having my namesake salad.
        Thanks, Jola. 🙂

  3. Hmm, live my life over again. At this point i would say no. Oh I love my family and friends don’t make that judgement. However there are some other roads I would like to have gone down back when I was a kid. But that is much the same for many folks I imagine.

    But I’ll take some apple pie and be quite content.

    • Yep, I think most of us would have done things differently which would have eventually lead to completely alternate life whether we meant for it to or not. A tiny change in one place has big consequences down the road.
      Thanks, Mark.

  4. Ken, I think there is something magical about being raised in the country and I think it allows for a child to develop in a very unique way. The running all day long with my brothers in the woods, drinking from the garden hose, dirty feet, pet goats, barn owls, orange blossoms perfuming the air, fresh oranges picked straight from the tree for a snack, tire swings, tree forts, bee-bee guns, bareback horse riding across the field, etc. I also, yearn for those times in my young life. It was the happiest most carefree time I have ever known and I’d go back to it if I could. There is a connection with nature deeply ingrained in my soul and when I am barefoot in the garden a whisper of it brushes my hair to remind me. I understand your thoughts on this. I am sad for children who spend too much time indoors in front of a TV set – they miss out on so much.
    Jola, if you had a restaurant I’d happily cook apple dumplings in your kitchen and we would listen to lovely music and share wine and laugh. Apples are a universal food I think! lovely photo Jola in a most haunting way. You have been through much I think dear friend.

    • Thanks, Tammy. I will respond to your thoughtful comment on today’s blog. 🙂


Leave a Reply

