Approaching the Ides of March


Assassination of Julius Caesar -- Vincenzo Camucini.

I see where our General Motors, a company which has a 25 percent ownership by American taxpayer’s money, recently bought a $400 million stake in France’s PSA Peugeot Citroen company in an attempt to bail the French company out of sad financial woes. That means that We the People now own a part of that loser company. I suppose that if we didn’t own some of it, we would would be forced to take some kind of military action against it so we could rebuild it gratis. There isn’t much left in the world that we haven’t attacked. Maybe the U.S. should annex the rest of the world; that way, we would not dare attack ourselves.

I’m alone this morning and I don’t feel like doing taxes for the second straight day; I dreamed about spreadsheets last night. There are only 10 numbers I have to deal with–o-9–but there are more combinations and multiples of these numbers than I want to think about. Our finances are small, but there are still thousands of these combinations over a tax year and they seem overbearing. I think I know how Julius Caesar felt as the daggers plunged into his heart.

Y’all have a good weekend and get out and about if you can; I hope to do so Sunday.

Published in: on March 9, 2012 at 12:31 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://looselaces.wordpress.com/2012/03/09/approaching-the-ides-of-march/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I didn’t know such painter. Beautiful canvas however Caesar’s enemies were very cruel. A terrible death.
    You do your taxes every year, and very year I admire you that you are so patient and scrupulous, my friend.
    Yes, have a good weekend. 🙂

    • I’ve seen the Caesar canvas pics many times, but I didn’t remember who painted it; he was very good artist.
      It costs several hundred dollars to have someone else do business taxes so I pay $10 for software and do them myself. I hope the ones I am doing now and the ones I do next year are the last of them.
      Thanks, Jola. 🙂

  2. The more French we get the better I say. I may be a bit biased though.

    I think we should attack the Falkland Islands and take them from England.

    • Oui!
      Let’s attack Bermuda instead of the Falklands; much warmer. Let Argentina, the rightful owners, have the Malvinas.
      Thanks, Mark.


Leave a Reply

