Life is a Gas … don’t strike a match!


As threatened, here is my Sammy post-Christmas update. Our jolly little Elf enjoyed opening his presents; in fact he took more enjoyment from the colorful wrappings than from the presents themselves. He now has two teeth all the way through his gums, therefore there will be no more using my knuckles for further teething. He was a bright spot for all of us on Christmas day.
—-
RA doc appointment went as expected. She said my blood work was showing hardly any signs of RA which is very unusual for someone who has it as bad and has had it long as have I. She claimed the blood was more like a healthy 20 year old man than a decrepit 67 year old geezer. She also had my last heart doc tests and said my heart was like that of a healthy 40 year old man. I have also lost another four pounds in the past four months. All this together is too much encouraging news; must be something wrong somewhere. We wound up talking about my mental health and we both agreed there was much room for improvement in that area. She wrote me a prescription for a different sleeping pill, Ambien, and took me off my Xanax. I still have a order for Xanax tucked away in case of emergency. Maybe the mouse wars will not be so disturbing if the new pill works well.
—-
Carolyn 2; mice 0! No mice disturbed Carolyn last night and she didn’t disturb me.
—-
Have a wise Wednesday, my friends.

Published in: on December 28, 2011 at 12:50 pm  Comments (12)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://looselaces.wordpress.com/2011/12/28/life-is-a-gas-dont-strike-a-match/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It was a beautiful day with a jolly little Elf. Hope you recorded a video or took some photos, my friend.
    I had mammography yesterday. They will give me a description after two weeks. This is our national health project called in Polish “Powszechny narodowy program wczesnego wykrywania raka piersi”. I received an invitation for my check -up like other women from my city who are 50 years old and more. It was free of charge.
    You are in good shape, Ken. RA doctor had for you really wonderful news. My congrats. ๐Ÿ™‚
    xo

    • I didn’t get any videos or photos, but others got plenty of them; I will post some of them when they put them on the net.
      It is a good idea to get the mammogram each year. Sometimes they offer free screening here, but most of the time one must have money or insurance; many poor women are left out because of this.
      I was surprised by what my doctor said; I certainly don’t feel like my blood is 20 years old.
      Thanks, Jola. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • It was my first such examination. I can get the mammogram every 2 years. Most of us (women) have insurance. Health insurance is mandatory in my country. I wish I had blood of a woman who is 20 years old. I still have a slight anaemia.
        Have a good day my friend!

  2. Oh, I forgot to add that I love your new blog header!

    • Thank you for allowing me to use your red-legged photo, my friend. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Christmas is for little kids and for the adults to watch the pure joy of the kids.

    Ha, I wished I felt 48 instead of 68. Mental health is an issue and stress goes along with that.
    Where are my drugs? Dammit.

    • I think Americans in general, myself included, have become too up-tight since the mid-80s. I don’t even know how to relax anymore without help from drugs or alcohol. Can’t wait to try the Ambien.
      Thanks, Mark

  4. I was trying to figure out the type of birds in your blog header. Some sort of seagull? But certainly a smaller version of the gulls we have in Florida. Mammograms are important for us gals but certainly I’ve watched more than one friend go through emotional strain as a test will come back inconclusive or with a “mass.” Most of the time the biopsies come back negative which is good and so far mine have been clear. Our country should provide mammograms free to women over age 40. Only the Sneetches with stars upon thars get the good health care. Sammy seems to be a sun for your world to revolve around. How wonderful you have each other. Go Carolyn – get those mice. Maybe she can some stay with me for a week and help me with the rats. Lucky Carolyn to now have a 20-year-old frisky man in her bed, so says the doctor.
    The robins are quiet this morning as it is a cold morning. I suspect they are all huddled together in a cedar tree waiting for the sun to come out.

    • I think they are gulls; it is Jola’s photo made in a Warsaw park. The gulls we have here are plain old ring-bills.
      Health screenings, especially for cancer, should be free of charge for everyone in the world.
      Two nights mouse free = two nights of sleep for me!
      My doctor who said I had the blood of a 20 year old may have been making a pass at me. She is a young 64 year old.
      Hope the robins don’t catch a cold; nothing like a flock of sneezing birds. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thanks, Tammy.

  5. All health care should be free. What is a more basic human right than that.

    • “provide for the general welfare” … That sounds like universal healthcare, to me.

      • AMEN !!!


Leave a Reply

