For the birds


Old time religion

Our bird feeders are attracting a decent crowd of small diners. Plenty of chickadees, tufted titmice, white breasted nuthatches, hairy and downy woodpeckers, and finches are using the facilities. On the ground are mourning doves, cardinals, blue jays, and starlings. The fringes support sparrows, mocking birds, and wrens. There are probably more which I haven’t seen yet, and there will surely be some additional varieties come spring. There are also the ubiquitous squirrels; we are now up to at least four head roaming the back forty.

Except for sore knees and some foot swelling, I feel better today than I have in a week or more. Late Sunday and part of the day yesterday I had chills, a bit of nausea, and a lot of quality time on the throne. I suppose I am just acting my age like my granny always told me to do when I was a little boy acting like a littler boy.

Life consists of three distinct sections: Optimism of youth, caution of middle age, and W.T.F. ofย  the elderly.

Have a good Tuesday all over the place.

Published in: on December 20, 2011 at 11:29 am  Comments (6)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://looselaces.wordpress.com/2011/12/20/2903/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Your Bird’s Kingdom (+ the ubiquitous squirrels) is beautiful, my friend. You’ re a bit like Saint Francis of Assisi. ๐Ÿ™‚
    I think you ate something what wasn’t fresh. I’m sorry that you suffered so much.
    Your photo Old time religion is so meaningful, and it’s really v. good post-processing.
    xo

    • I was known as Giovanni Francesco in an earlier life when I lived in Assisi, Italy. ๐Ÿ˜‰
      —-
      The old church buildings are fading away in the US, but some of the old time religion still lives on in congregations which meet where they can find space to do so. Too many of the traditional ways have been drowned by a few flashy new churches with huge campuses, big budgets, and low morals where preacher’s salaries are on par with many corporate executives and in some cases, more than the president of the U.S. is paid.

      Thanks, Jola. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I saw a hawk yesterday walking home from work. It landed on a street sign about 10 feet ahead of me. I took a pic with my phone but it didn’t turn out the greates because it was raining a little. Beautiful Creature!
    Life Sections: 2 Complete and WTF to go!
    Love You Guys!

    • Was the hawk walking home from work or was it you doing the walking? I know; I’m a smartass! ๐Ÿ™‚
      I’ve seen only one red-tailed hawk since we moved here but there are probably some smaller ones around.
      Thanks, Jeremy

  3. My feeders a doing pretty well. I put out suet 2 weeks ago and nothing has touched them.
    The squirrels can not eat from one of the feeders at all and the other is tough. It is far enough away from anything and high enough off the ground so when they jump on it the feeders swings and the usually fall off.

    • Once, I had to go to hardware store and buy an old time screen door spring to hang a bird feeder on. The tree rats didn’t appreciate jumping from a limb onto the feeder and being shot almost back to the limb they came from. Our suet is doing pretty good; it takes awhile for the peckerwoods to find it.
      Thanks, Mark.


Leave a Reply

