Monday is the thud of the door opening on a new week


It’s Monday once more; I suppose the Thanksgiving weekend is officially over and it is back to the grind for most Americans. I didn’t sleep very much last night and today my eyes are furious with me and have pulled a wildcat strike. Xanax tonight and the world will be all right tomorrow … except for the fact it is supposed to snow.

OWS seems to have quieted somewhat but I have a feeling it is a lull before the storm; at least I hope so. At present, American shoppers are fulfilling the happiest wishes of Wall Street by spending money they don’t have and if they do have it, they should be saving some of it. Bah! Humbug!

Carolyn is talking about taking Sammy to Bristol recetrack to see Speedway In Lights, an annual charity event. Ten dollars or there-abouts per car allows you to drive around the famous half-mile raceway which will be filled with millions of lights for Christmas. Sammy won’t remember it, but Carolyn isn’t getting any younger so I told her she should go for it.

I case I don’t answer your comments today, it is because I cannot see well enough to do so; however, I have read and appreciate them and will try to do better tomorrow.

Have good Worshday!

Published in: on November 28, 2011 at 11:31 am  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://looselaces.wordpress.com/2011/11/28/monday-is-the-thud-of-the-door-opening-on-a-new-week/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. The racetrack light festival sounds like a great idea! I hope Carolyn takes Sammy and has a blast, after all, grandchildren seem to be the avenue to the fun we wouldn’t ordinarily take for ourselves. 😉
    hope your eyes get better soon. Snow? wow that seems early. I am still waiting for a day cooler than 74 degrees. Saw two large piles of deer scat next to my garden bed. I suppose there is no question where the young leaves of my swiss chard went to. They left the arugula – too bitter I suppose. One of my friends who is big into Occupy suggested that we “boycott” Christmas. I told her that I really didn’t think that would prove much. I hope we the people don’t allow ourselves to overspend and I’m working hard not to.

    • I think you are right about grandchildren making us do things we would not ordinarily do.
      From my window, it looks like there may be some snow atop Unaka Mt.
      Deer were having their own Thanksgiving dinner and left you a fertilizer present in appreciation.
      I’m as bad as anyone about buying Christmas stuff and most of it is made in a foreign sweatshop. We really don’t have a lot of choice except to boycott and I don’t think people are ready for such a drastic step.
      Thanks, Tammy

  2. Jimi Hendrix is great, as always. The video moves me very much. The Americans couldn’t win that war, I think. Vietnamese nation (and its culture) is special. A large group of the Vietnamese people live in Warsaw. They run little and cheap restaurants (v. good cuisine) and textile shops. They are the most diligent and modest people I have ever seen in my life. Their children attend our schools and they are usually v. good students.
    I could read in my favourite paper that the Americans spent more than 11 milliards dollars on last Black Friday. If it’s truth it means that American economy is a good shape.
    I think we all love Christmas lights. Hope Carolyn and Sammy have a good trip. 🙂
    Be well, my friends.
    xo

    • Hendrix sure took the blues to a different level. The U.S. was completely unprepared for any kind of war, especially hit-and-run jungle warfare. We had no moral obligation to be in Vietnam.
      Many S. Vietnamese came here and to Canada, also. Many here have blended into everyday America and some were able to keep the trades they had back in Vietnam. Some were fishermen and shrimpers and they are doing the same thing here. I’ve never eaten their food, but I would like to try it.
      There are more than 300 million people in America, so Black Friday’s 11 million is not so much if it is spread out across the population. Just think, we handed Wall Street 10 billion dollars from tax payer pockets. That has hurt us more than anything else as far as money goes.
      Thanks, Jola. 🙂

  3. The racetrack sounds pretty neat. I would go, maybe.

    OWS is fine. A little slow down right now is to be expected. I still think a march on New Years day would be the perfect event.

    As far as Black Friday and Christmas I think we as Americans will spend then no matter what.
    Christmas day for Americans is more than the birth of Christ. It is a day for showing love for your friends and family. It is a national day of unity..

    Vietnamese food is awesome. Pho is a killer soup.

    • I’ve promised myself every year to go to the race track for the lights (Charlotte has them too).

      It seems like virtually every religion has managed to have special days right around Dec. 25, so it is as good a day as any to have all people together as one.

      I googled Pho; looks good.

      Thanks, Mark


Leave a Reply

