Happy Birthday, Colleen!!!


A scare for everyone!

Thanks to Tammy for the jack-o-lanterns photo. The sour-puss dude–second from right–is definitely me this morning. Tammy’s pumpkin carvings show some of her artistic abilities.
—-
The Occupy movement seems to be getting more attention each day as protestors from around the country are being jailed for any minor offenses–real or imagined–which the elected and appointed officials can think of. Although city and municipal leaders highly desire to keep their well paying and prestigious positions, they don’t care one iota about the rest of us. Cops, as usual, are nothing more than willing puppets of the master race who want some innocent blood on their hands.
—-
Didn’t do a damn thing this weekend. First time in years that I didn’t get some decent autumn leaf photos; first time in years I didn’t get to Buck Mt. to shoot the Christmas trees all in a row; first time in years I didn’t get photos of the old church on Walnut Mt.
—-
Here is a piece of a tale I’ve been thinking about expanding into a short story:

With his surgically created sardonic grin, naked and corpulent Badi the Castrato and his enormous scimitar shaped phallus guarded the Teaching Harem of Alim the Kind. In other kingdoms Alim the Kind was known as Alim the Coward or Alim the Blamer or Alim Who Leads from Behind for he was not loved anywhere but by his own people and their affection was mostly in his imagination.

Badi the Castrato had once been a king of a rival country but had fallen upon hard times and come begging to Alim his Brother. Alim kept him as jailer for one of his harems, annexed his kingdom, and became powerful; too powerful for many of his other royal rivals and they were constantly looking mover their shoulders.

The older women of the Teaching Harem were misty-eyed dreamers of memories who were, by various means, taught to believe themselves as aged and no longer fit for the attentions of His Highness or even for his guests. Most were no more than thirty years of age.

The trainees were taken from their parents when they first showed signs of maturity and many of the nubile youngsters were happy to be away from the drudgery of their poverty laden lives. After each day”s instructions, they sat twittering about how they would be the ones to really teach the king the finer points of making love.

—-

At least it is now Monday–have a great Worshday, y’all ,and a Happy Halloween too!

Published in: on October 31, 2011 at 10:40 am  Comments (19)  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://looselaces.wordpress.com/2011/10/31/happy-birthday-colleen/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

19 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Your photos of old church on Walnut Mt. are beautiful. It’s a magical place. Hope you will go there next year, dear friend.
    I like very much Tammy’s photo. We don’t celebrate Halloween (it’s American holiday) but jack-o-lanterns are more and more popular in my country too.
    Happy Halloween. 🙂

    • Thanks for the link; I love that old church.
      From History.com:

      Ancient Origins of Halloween
      Halloween’s origins date back to the ancient Celtic festival of Samhain (pronounced sow-in). The Celts, who lived 2,000 years ago in the area that is now Ireland, the United Kingdom and northern France, celebrated their new year on November 1. This day marked the end of summer and the harvest and the beginning of the dark, cold winter, a time of year that was often associated with human death. Celts believed that on the night before the new year, the boundary between the worlds of the living and the dead became blurred. On the night of October 31 they celebrated Samhain, when it was believed that the ghosts of the dead returned to earth. In addition to causing trouble and damaging crops, Celts thought that the presence of the otherworldly spirits made it easier for the Druids, or Celtic priests, to make predictions about the future. For a people entirely dependent on the volatile natural world, these prophecies were an important source of comfort and direction during the long, dark winter.

      Thanks, Jola. 🙂

      • Thanks for the clarification, Ken. I didn’t know too much about Halloween. Our church (Roman -Catholic) doesn’t accept Halloween because of its pagan roots. We celebrate All Saints Day on 1 November.
        I think that curving pumpkins is really nice thing. 🙂

      • Ah, but we were all pagans at one time in our history and I don’t think those traditions–religious or otherwise–should be tossed on history’s scrap pile. I am quite proud of my Celtic heritage.

        Once when I was working out of town, Carolyn bought a big pumpkin for the kids to have at Halloween. Some how, 10 year old JoJo–our oldest–sneaked a knife from the kitchen and the three kids tried to carve a jack-o-lantern. JoJo sliced his hand and wrist open and ended up at the emergency room getting stitched up. It is one of the downfalls when working from home; I could not be there for them and help with their activities.

        Thanks, Jola.

  2. I am the second from the left. Slight chaotic.

    The police state is gaining strength every day and we do not realize it. There is a camera on a street I drive on frequently. I have decided to flip it off every time I drive under it.

    I missed the leaves this year also. Bummer of a deal. Guess I’ll work on snow pictures.

    Twittering nubiles, hmmm good.

    • The police state is gaining strength as the war over-seas continues. We have a war in our own land with politicians, big corporation, police and eventuall martial, etc. In Atlanta we have cameras at every major intersection and many busy streets that thousands of people travel daily. About a month ago on the news, the ity of Atlanta was placing more cameras on the streets to watch people so that officers can watch behind the scenes and catch criminals. My problem is the police say they are to “protect and serve” the people but that isn’t protection. Blessing Brother Mark!

      • It all was predicted in the novel 1984; citizens even had cameras in their homes.
        Thanks, Jeremy.

      • The scary thing is we are tracked by our phones, Facebook, gps in your car and so many other things we have lost our privacy. Its scary to think about. Kids just accept it without any questions.

      • If Orwell had been a science futurist along with being a social futurist, his book might have been much different and filled with more warnings.
        Thanks, Mark.

    • If you forget to salute the camera, do you turn around and go back? 🙂
      Thanks, Mark.

      • LOL. I’ll have to do that next time. 🙂

  3. The more media attention Occupy gets, the stronger they will grow. They were kicked out of Woodruff Park here in Atlanta and have since relocated to a homeless shelter on Pine St. I have a video to share with you all as soon as I get it posted I will let you know…
    I missed out on a lot of things I usually enjoy doing this year but optimism bring in the next sun cycle so hang in there with me…
    interesting story so far! Looking forward to reading more!
    Be Healthy, Paw

    • Thanks, Jeremy.
      I am looking forward to your video. Being in a large city you will see stuff most of us don’t.

  4. The pumpkin 2nd from the right “scary” is actually a butterfly that my Tia carved. On the other side of the pumpkin she carved a caterpillar and consequently almost cut her thumb off. Now that I look at it, I see that it could be a scary face. her boyfriend Adam carved the pumpkin on the far right and I think his nose looks like bull testicles. My mom carved the one 2nd from the left and it is a pumpkin with a “bad hair day.” The story is intruiging, will there be belly dancers? so sorry you didn’t get your photos this year. I never really thought about other countries and Halloween. Is it strictly an american thing? I thought more pagan if anything.

    • Thanks for the info, Tammy. Your family is talented and imaginative which should be good for your dance art.
      They say if you never had it that you won’t miss it; that is the attitude I’ve taken about life’s little disappointments.
      I don’t know where the story will go; I want it to include much magic and fantasy, along with following individual characters until I can think of some kind of climax.
      Halloween was begun in ancient Ireland according to an article I read. It is celebrated in many European countries so I suppose It will come to Poland sooner or later.
      Thanks, Tammy.

  5. I could have gotten off my lazy ass and researched Halloween. But fortunately You’ve done it for me! Jola could celebrate Halloween and I think she’d like it. If Mark misses saluting the cameras the first time I’d be willing to bet he gives it 2 salutes the next time.

  6. I like googling; I usually get way laid by other articles about other things when I am hunting info.
    I bet it wouldn’t take long to get the Polish kids used to trick-or-treat.
    I think Mark is getting more pissed at the system by the day. We will turn him into either an anarchist or a congressman.
    Thanks, Tammy.

    • Our church doesn’t accept Halloween. As for me I like everything what is a nice tradition and what gives us a joy. I don’t celebrate Halloween but I’m moved if can look at you and see how much you are happy on that day, my American friends. 🙂
      xo

      • Halloween wasn’t real special for me except when I was a kid. After I was grown in the 70’s and 80’s, it was just another excuse for a party.
        I’m glad you like our shenanigans on All-Hallows eve.
        Thanks, my friend. 🙂


Leave a Reply

