Missing Dot


Dot (seated holding Uncle Wallace), Uncle Roy and Uncle Fred (back l-to-r)

My Mother would have been 92 years old today had she lived.
—-
The U.S. needs more religious holidays so that Congress can take a week off with pay for each one. At least they won’t be doing any mischief in the name of We The People. Of course, members of the House of Representatives didn’t have to be working for the Senate to sell out on F.E.M.A. support legislation.
—-
I edited The Hunter story but instead of it becoming shorter it became several hundred words longer. Over the years, I’ve had a few people tell me that my stories need to be broadened a bit, that they were too concise. I suppose that comes from my schooling as a newspaper reporter/editor. Anyway, I added a few paragraphs; one concerning enduring in the cold smokehouse and another about my beagle shunning me just like the rest of the family.
—-
Have a Tuesday, y’all!

Published in: on September 27, 2011 at 11:57 am  Comments (12)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://looselaces.wordpress.com/2011/09/27/missing-dot/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Beautiful. One of the best family photos I have ever seen. I think Dot was very responsible for her brothers. She was pretty girl. 🙂
    xo

    • Yes, Dot felt responsibility for both Fred and Roy until they died; she was a good sister for them.
      Thanks, Jola. 🙂

  2. Ken … hope you publish your story on Brasstacks blog.

    • I will leave it on Brasstacks for a few days then it will be on Lord Bubbha’s Blog. 🙂

  3. Your Mom, Dot was a wonderful woman.
    She always tried to find the best in everyone.
    Alice

    • Thanks, Alice. She always seemed to find the worst in me, but that is the way of moms. She was still proud of me even with all mu faults, especially proud of my writing attempts.
      Did Nic finally talk you into getting high-speed dsl internet? 🙂

      • Yes, New E-mail address acg44acg@centurylink.net

      • Thanks, Alice. That one should be easy for me to remember. Have you thought about using a web-based email like Gmail so you won’t have to have a new address if you change service providers?

  4. Cool picture. I love that style of photography. Happy birthday Mom.
    We at least need to adopt the European vacation philosophy for we the people.

    • If unions keep declining, vacations with pay will be a luxury most people can’t afford.
      Thanks, Mark.

  5. I miss Granny Dot so so much! She was my foundation. She will always have my love!!!

    • She was there for me, my kids, and my kids kids. A wonderful “mom” to all of us.
      Thanks, Jeremy.


Leave a Reply

