New beginnings


Jeremy's Dreads

The move has begun; Carolyn and Vicky took a van load and a car load of boxed stuff to the new house yesterday. Most of the remaining small stuff will go today along with some of the larger items. The electric and water are turned on in the new house, and as soon as internet is on, His Majesty (me) will be ready to go; I should sleep in the new place by next Saturday night. I hate moving anytime and anywhere, but by pretending I am crippled, I am able to worm out of most of the heavy work. It is an art form.
—-
I’ve missed y’all this week and hope you are doing fine. I miss blogging as much as I miss photography; both are a way to tell stories.
—-
One good thing; I haven’t much kept up with the news this week but I am sure the good ol’ boys in D.C. are legislating or vacationing in the best interest of the people.
—-
I don’t feel sorry for the big corporations whose stock is taking a hit from the continuing recession, but I do feel badly for folks whom have their retirement 401k plans heavily invested in stocks. Hopefully stock managers learned something from the 2008 fiasco and diversified people’s portfolios but if history is an indicator and if diversification did take place, it likely didn’t last long. I have a very few gold coins stashed back and although their numismatic value hasn’t increased a lot, their bullion value has soared; I bought them when gold was $35 per ounce.
—-
Have a splendid weekend, my friends.

Published in: on August 20, 2011 at 10:26 am  Comments (7)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://looselaces.wordpress.com/2011/08/20/new-beginnings/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Jeremy’s dreads are beautiful.
    I’m happy things are going well, His Majesty. πŸ˜‰ I was afraid that they would be much more difficult and you all would overdo yourself.
    It’s evening in Warsaw; a bit cold and still bright.
    xo

    • Carolyn gets tired pretty quickly, but I hope she has gumption enough to rest when she needs to. Is “gumption” a new English word for you? It means “common sense”. πŸ™‚
      It is about 2pm here and the temperature is 32C but the nights are becoming cooler.
      Thanks, my friend. πŸ™‚

      • I like if you teach me English. You’re right; ‘gumption’ is my new word. It’s very interesting word. It has several meanings in Polish. I think ‘zdrowy rozsΔ…dek’ is the best.
        Word ‘stash’ is new for me too (a secret store of valuables or money, save up as for future use). It’s always very important how to use the word writing a sentence. For example: I have 4000 PLN stashed away.
        Oh, unfortunately, I haven’t. πŸ˜‰

      • Gumption is a word the folk of my grandmother’s generation used a lot but I seldom hear it now; however it is still good English.
        I like “stash”. In the 70’s and 80’s, the word was used by dope-heads to refer to the bag of marijuana they kept hidden for their own use. πŸ˜‰
        We were talking about “you all” and “y’all” a few days ago. “You all” is a southern contraction of the phrase “all of you” as in “all of you come over to our house see us some time.” We hillbillies and other southerners have contracted it to a simple “you all come” or “y’all come”. You will hear “y’all” a lot in the hills and the southwest and more of “you all” in the deep south.
        If we all had enough gumption to do it, we could have a nice party with 4000 PLN from your stash! πŸ™‚
        Thanks, my friend.

  2. Thank you for your notes, my friend. I read them carefully and now I know what ‘hillbilly’ means. Yes, I know it. At last!
    Wow, it would be a great party. πŸ™‚

  3. Wow, the dreads are long. Years of growth.

    Moving sucks. Plain and simple.

    Well you have made a nice profit on the gold once you decide to sell it.
    Keep your eye out for the decline.

    • Many years of dreads; I’d have a headache.

      The gold coins are so beautiful I hate to part with them; I’ve had them since mid-60’s. Of course with that kind of profit, I cannot resist.


Leave a Reply

