Chivalry


----

Yesterday’s “Let’s get naked and get into a pile” is a quote that a friend of mine used to say at every party and get-together we had. He is the same friend that once asked me for permission to take dear Alice to the movies. Today, it may sound weird or silly for one friend to ask another friend if he cared if he asked another friend on a date, but under the circumstances of the time (and times) he was being countrified chivalrous and polite.
—-
The Gang of 12 Senators and Representatives being chosen by political party leaders to decide how to further screw American taxpayers in this so called budget crisis seems to be coming together as one might expect. Much bickering and very little positive results will come of it and in my uneducated opinion, it is all most likely unconstitutional anyway. They are giving 12 people the right to do what all of them are supposed to do, according to our Constitution. This is so biased as to not be funny because the 12 will first listen to their particular constituents (I hate that word) and that is going to leave nearly all taxpaying Americans out of any decisions that will affect us for years to come.
—-
Silly municipal ordinances like this one are a big part of America’s sickness. Let’s all eat store-bought, processed eggs provided to us by some faceless Big Agriculture conglomerate who gets government subsidies and doesn’t have to pay taxes. Phooey!
—-
The photo is courtesy of Jola and was made by her husband during their weekend getaway to Poland’s Podlasie and Biebrza National Park. I like rusty fences and old fence posts.
—-
Have a splendiferous Wednesday!

Published in: on August 10, 2011 at 9:54 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://looselaces.wordpress.com/2011/08/10/chivalry/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I remember that my grandmother had five hens and we had always fresh eggs. It was in 70’s; I was a child and I must say I didn’t like our hens, and I still think that hens are rather stupid birds. Nevertheless, if my granny was asking me for buying a special fodder for them I didn’t protest. We lived in the suburb of our city, so first I was commuting (by the tram) to a little shop and later I was getting back with the bag full of the best fodder. It was rather heavy bag for a little girl.
    I love colours of D.’s photo. They are typical of Polish August; still vivid green with different tones of brown.
    It was lovely weekend. I hope you can hear my gentle sigh. πŸ˜‰
    xo

    • Chickens aren’t the smartest birds in the world but they do lay plenty of eggs and the incubation period is only 21 days, so a person can be up to their ears in hens in no time. For the most part, our hens roamed free; I remember many times walking barefoot in Mom’s yard and having stinky chicken poop squish up between my toes.
      The colors are much like our Augusts here; maybe yours are a bit greener. We have similar brown grasses like the ones in Podlasie.
      Maybe you can go back to Podlasie before hard winter sets in.
      Thanks, Jola. πŸ™‚

      • My dear friend, I hope you know German word: ORDNUNG. For many years (in 30’s, before 2WW) my granny was adopted daughter of German couple. She was taught that “ORDNUNG MUSS SEIN”. So … the hens couldn’t roam free . πŸ˜‰ It was a special place separated only for them.
        As a little girl I was also taught that “ORDUNG MUSS SEIN”. Well, today I appreciate this precious German rule, and sometimes I simply hate it. πŸ˜‰
        xo

      • The best English translation I can find for β€œORDNUNG MUSS SEIN” is “get your sh-t together”.
        Thanks, Jola. πŸ™‚

  2. In this case it’s not easy to find really good translation, but here – in Europe – we all know what German ‘ordnung’ means.
    English: ‘All things should be maintained in order’ sounds good but German phrase ‘ordnung muss sein’ is much more harsh.
    Till tomorrow. πŸ™‚

    • It is like US saying “get all your ducks in a row” or “don’t put the cart before the horse”.
      Thanks for the explanation, my friend. πŸ™‚

      • I like both sayings.
        You know language by intuition. It’s precious!

      • “Don’t get your cart before your horse” was often said by my mother and grandmother when I was impatient to get something done. Another was “Hold your tater!” It also means not to get in a hurry.
        Thanks, my friend. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

