Saturday Blu


Droid photo from my last doc visit

Chris and Ashley are continuing the yard sale at our house today; Carolyn chose not to participate this time. Sammy is sleeping in his crib which is right behind where I am sitting. He is a bit restless and so I will be lucky to get any learning into his memory.
—-
Still haven’t gotten the “Life is Good” Blu-Ray player to stay connected to the internet; I will give LG one more chance to tell me how to correctly fix it. I have to leave it perpetually “on”; the internet setup as a big hassle. If they cannot satisfy me, I will return it to Amazon and get a Roku receiver in its place. The LG provides a beautiful display for our DVD’s and Netflix movies, but I am an miser and don’t like to leave anything or anyone turned on when they are not being used.
—-
Netflix needs to get its streaming movie list improved; most of the shows are junk and even old movies that are popular cannot be found. For instance, I have never seen Ocean’s 11 starring George Clooney but Netflix doesn’t offer the 10 year old flick in its lineup. Instead, it offers one starring Fran Sinatra from 1960. I suppose the movie companies control some of this, but Netflix should be able to do better.
—-
No video today; I can’t test them out with Sammy asleep behind me.
—-
Last weekend in July … make it a good one!

Published in: on July 30, 2011 at 9:57 am  Comments (10)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://looselaces.wordpress.com/2011/07/30/saturday-blu/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. YEah, the netflicks streaming movie selection is pretty lame. They too have just upped their prices actually. Mostly we watch comic relief w/ George Carlin and the like. Plenty of those available. I don’t mind watching old movies over and over. Mostly I just sew while Mike watches the tube. Once I stop doing anything I fall asleep. kisses to baby sammy. Mike and I will be at the pool today and tonight I’ll make soap (my new favorite hobby). hope the yardsale goes well.

    • I’m watching old movies; I watched “Blade Runner” again last night and “The Gods Must Be Crazy 2” the night before. I wouldn’t mind paying a few bucks more for some popular newer movies.
      I bet soap making has changed since I was a little boy; plenty of hog fat, wood ashes, a can of Red Seal lye (in case the wood ashes didn’t make enough good lye), all cooked together in a big kettle and poured into to home made wooden molds lined with rags.
      Thanks, Tammy.

      • My Great Grandmother made soap that way. Used to help her.
        Alice

      • I tried to help but they said I would burn myself with the lye; they were probably right. My grandmother and her sister made the soap every year just after hog killing time. I think they put borax in the cakes they made for laundry.
        Thanks, Alice.

  2. My husband tells me that blu-ray player is more and more popular device in Poland but I haven’t know about it. Yep, as for technical stuff I’m rather ignorant; my mobile phone Nokia, my notebook and my traditional DVD player are enough for me. I live in a district with access to good public transport (buses, subway, trams, paths for cyclists), so I also don’t need my own vehicle (last one I sold in 1998).
    Beautiful sight if you look out through this window. It’s lovely photo, my friend. πŸ™‚
    xo

    • Blu-Ray players are good, but the discs are too expensive for me. The reason I have the Blu-Ray player is to connect wireless to Netflix and Youtube. There are only taxis that come out to my house, but a bus line is a mile away.
      The person in the photo is Carolyn hiding from the camera.
      Thanks, Jola. πŸ™‚

      • I guessed it! I guessed that the person in the photo is Carolyn, and that she was hiding from the camera; as always. πŸ™‚

  3. We were waiting for the nurse to come in and give me shots. Carolyn is even more camera shy than me.
    Thanks, Jola. πŸ™‚

  4. i am going to be a hold out on the Blu Ray. Not convinced it is the next thing to be honest.

    • I don’t think Blu-Ray discs will replace DVDs; I needed this one to replace a 12 yr. od DVD player and this new one does have the Netflix-Vudu-Youtube wireless.interface. Wireless is important when we rent a house or whatever; people don’t understand when you drill holes in their walls and floors to run cables.
      Thanks, Mark.


Leave a Reply

