Ask


 

Little River--mountain thunder

But ask now the beasts, and they shall teach thee; and the fowls of the air, and they shall tell thee: Or speak to the earth, and it shall teach thee: and the fishes of the sea shall declare unto thee.
~Job 12:7-8

—-
Good Sunday Morning! The quote is one of many pieces of wisdom from the Hebrew bible and is something I have believed since I was a small child in the hills and fields of my home. I don’t believe because the bible says it; I know it to be true because of the things I’ve seen and the teachings of my elders, mainly my uncles Roy and Fred. Roy was a born philosopher and Fred was a natural naturalist. This bit of knowledge is most likely about as old as is rational thinking.
—-
The photo is of Little River in Great Smokey Mountains National Park near Cades Cove on a very scenic drive along Old State Hwy 73 in East Tennessee. The sound of the creek is awesome for miles along the road.
—-
Have a wonderful new week!

Published in: on June 12, 2011 at 9:56 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://looselaces.wordpress.com/2011/06/12/ask/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sometimes my daughter reads aloud Hebrew Bible. We treat it as something important what really have shaped our cultural, philosophical and ethical background.
    Beautiful quote.
    You speak to the creek in Great Smokey Mountains National Park, I speak to the Vistula River and old trees in Łazienki Park.
    Have a good new week. 🙂

  2. I think most US southerners believe in the King James version of the Hebrew Bible and it is where my quote came from.
    You are also a part of Podlasie; I can almost feel your emotions toward these places via your photos.
    Thanks, Jola. 🙂

  3. Beautiful verse. I would like Roy and Fred. Lovely photo. I’d have loved to stick my legs in water in the mountains but we didn’t really see any easy access to rivers (creeks?). There was one area that had river but there signs posted to keep out.
    When I do good I feel good and that is my religion….Abraham Lincoln.

    • Roy and Fred were two opposite personalities; Fred was shy and artistic whereas Roy never met a stranger. They both made sure I learned a few things outside of the classroom.
      That is the way with most creeks along main roads … no access. We have plenty of accessible streams–my bathing creek, for instance–where you can walk or wade a few feet from the road and do your thang in privacy.
      Lincoln was a great philosopher and thinker.,
      “When I look good, I feel good and when I feel good, I do good.” ~Rothie Brackens 🙂
      Thanks, Tammy


Leave a Reply

