Hey, did you happen to see …


When this song came out around 1974, I hated it. I hated the song, I hated Charlie Rich, and I hated his “Silver Fox” good looks which made the ladies gaga. Thirty-seven years later, I realize it was a fine song and I suppose Charlie couldn’t help being pretty. 1974 is of the era when country music was going through its change from the good ol’ boy Nashville establishment to the more onerous and laid back Texas sound of Waylon and Willie and the boys.

—-

Tinnitus today … big time …

—-

Have a gaga Thursday!

Published in: on June 9, 2011 at 1:38 pm  Comments (11)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://looselaces.wordpress.com/2011/06/09/hey-did-you-happen-to-see/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. So simple song. Very nice. 🙂

  2. Ken
    Hope Ashely is better today.
    Tree fell on my house during the storm last night. Be dealing with insurance people all day.
    It didn’t fall all the way thru the roof. Just enough to cause some damage.
    Alice

    • Hi Alice and thanks,
      I hope y’all are ok.
      Wow; sorry about the house being damaged. Were you home when the tree fell? We didn’t get a lot of wind; just heavy rain. Anything I can do to help? Be happy to do whatever. The house cross the street from us is wearing a big, blue temp roof due to winds earlier in the year; roofing companies are very busy.
      Keep us posted.
      Ken

      • I am ok. Was a church when it happened.
        They came and removed the tree at 7 this morning.
        The claims adjustor is coming Monday to look at the roof damage It didn’t fall all the way thru.
        Some roof damage and gutter damage.
        The insurance company sent Casteel Roofing to look at it.
        So we shall see if the adjustors agree with Castel’s estimate for fixing.
        Alice

      • I figured you were at church when the wind came.
        Casteel has been around for a long time; it used to be a family operation run by two brothers with other family members helping out. Personally, I’ve never had a problem with their work; they used to roof these houses where i live for Marvin Carter back when I was helping build them. I hired them once to do some work on my roof after a a tree fell on it; no complaints.
        Good luck, my friend.

  3. 1974! That was quite a long ways off before I was born. But I’m familiar with the song. The melody is nice. But I don’t think would have that song as her favorite. She was a Led Zeppelin/RollingStones fan. She loved rock. Another old song that blew me away was Billy Joel’s Just the Way You are. That song is just so beautiful ! !

    • 1974! That was quite a long ways off before I was born. But I’m familiar with the song. The melody is nice. But I don’t think my mother would have that song as her favorite. She was a Led Zeppelin/RollingStones fan. She loved rock. Another old song that blew me away was Billy Joel’s Just the Way You are. That song is just so beautiful ! !

    • I was having my first midlife crisis in 1974. The song was super-big on the country charts and was also a crossover fave for the pop and adult charts. I am a fan of the Stones, but not a big one; their early years were very good. Zepplin isn’t rated the #1 rock band of all time for nothing; they had all the ingredients. Billy Joel mad a lot of fans in his first few years, and is still very good.
      Thanks, renxkyoko.

  4. Oh yeah, this is a classic. I remember hearing this at the time as I was beginning to listen to the Beatles.
    I hated it at the time.

    • Charlie and his two big songs were in high demand back then. A friend’s aunt kept getting him confused with Charley Pride.
      Thanks, Mark.


Leave a Reply

