Melons


Descending Roam Mt.

No porch siting today as the world is very cool and moist; the fat lady has yet to sing her winter aria.
—-
Carolyn bought a cantaloupe (mountain dialect is “mushmelon” which is slang for “muskmelon”) at the market. The market owner had just come back from Columbia, South Carolina with a load of spring produce. The melons may have originated in Florida; he said they were sweet and he was correct. I don’t know why it is, but early mushmelons are always sweeter than those produced later on. Even our local Chucky River varieties are not as sweet as these foreigners. One thing I would love to have is a sweet honey dew melon, but the last dozen or so that we bought have not been edible because they seem to have no sugar content. We haven’t bought one in several years.
—-
I still like a bit having the 2010 income taxes done and it looks like we will be close to breaking even for the year, meaning we shouldn’t have to pay more than $50. This morning I did the 1st quarter state unemployment taxes which overall, was not too painful.
—-
The weekend weather is shaping up to be mild but cloudy so I doubt I can get out for a shoot. The Lady Vols play at noon Saturday and this will likely be their last game in this year’s championship series. The opponent is Ohio State which is a good but not great team, however if the way Tennessee played the last game is any indication, my ladies should be handily whipped.

Published in: on March 24, 2011 at 1:11 pm  Comments (6)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://looselaces.wordpress.com/2011/03/24/melons/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Beautiful photo! It’s amazing that you can see such mountains every day, even if you don’t leave your house and your porch. I love this emerald mist.
    As for melons, I like them too. Sometimes D. purchases one or two of them; especially for me.
    Be well, my friend. šŸ™‚

  2. I would be a very lonely person if I could not see the mountains any time I wanted or needed to.
    I like melons if they are ripe and sweet; the same way life should be.
    Thanks, Jola. šŸ™‚

  3. One last touch of cool weather before spring comes in full steam ahead.

    I find most cantaloupe’s to be almost flavorless these days. Bet they come here on a boat. Rarely buy one.

  4. I’m not sure why it is so difficult to find a good honeydew melon. More often than not I spend too much money on it only to cut it open and find it mushy or bitter. I gave up also. Field melons grow in the orange groves down here. They aren’t edible but sure are fun to stick in a sling shot shooter and lob them across a field. What kind of melons does Jola get? Cantelope? Honeydew? watermelon? Your mountain photos are lovely indeed but I am not a mountain girl. Mountains give me a rush in the pit of my stomach like I’m about to go falling off a rollercoaster. I prefer the beach or just plain flat lands of my Florida home. I’d love some of that healthy mountain soil though. Hope you have a lovely weekend. So glad it is Friday. Will you or Carolyn be planting any veggies this season? Still too early for you?

    • Unfortunately I don’t know these words: ‘cantelope’ or ‘honeydew’. Melon is melon. šŸ˜‰ I love its sweet and juicy pulp (flesh). Watermelons are much bigger and we eat them in summer. When I was in really hot Greece a watermelon (cut into pieces) was my best “meal”; it slaked my thirst. Of course, there are no fields of melons (or watermelons) in Poland; it would be too cold for them in my country. We have other delicious fruits, for example – apples, pears, plumps, cherries, currants, strawberries.
      Be well, my American friends!

    • Same here on the melons. We used to use small apples to have wars with one another. Cut a straight sourwood stick about 40″ long and about 3/8″ thick, stick an apple on the end of it haul back and sling the missile off the stick and try to hit someone 100′ away while they are trying to do the same to you. We didn’t use eye protection so we weren’t very smart.
      I rode a rollercoaster when I was about 12 yrs. old and immediately swore off them; I know what you mean about the lightness in the stomach. However, I have no choice about the mountains; they are so much a part of me that I cannot be out of sight of them for very long without becoming physically nauseous. The only time I ever was at a beach and the ocean, I was very ill until I got within viewing distance of the mountains on my way home.
      It will be late April or early May before we put out tomato plants, but we may have radishes before then. We will not have local tomatoes until late June. My aunt planted her taters during the last dark moon.
      Thanks, Tammy.


Leave a Reply

