Books and Boone


100 years ago this farmland belonged to my family, the Olivers

I finished the book The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown. Although I thought I might be able to raise my rating from a three to at least a 3.5, I found myself disappointed in the faith a reader must have to really care about putting it into Masonic beliefs and the Hebrew-Christian bible. Another thing is that some of the characters are just too unbelievable as are some of the main events that try to make the story work. The entire book consists 574 pages and 133 chapters plus Prologue and Epilogue, and nearly of it all takes place in one night in the city of Washington, D.C. If you are into the teaching and beliefs of Free Masonry and some occult happenings, this book may interest you as it relates to the founding of the United States of America. Many of the framers of the Constitution were Free Masons and that great document is actually based on Free Masonry beliefs. The ending gives a “what” but not a “how” which I found very disappointing. As a work of fiction, the book is ok so I will hold to my three out of a possible five rating for this book because I did learn quite a bit about Free Masonry, the capitol building, and about writing.
—-
Jola asked about Boone Station from yesterday’s photograph. I really don’t know much about the place except it is named after the first European descent explorer to blaze a trail across the mountains from western North Carolina into what is now East Tennessee. It is known that Daniel Boone explored and hunted in the Washington County area because, like many other early frontiersmen, he sometimes carved his initials on the bark of trees, particularly beech species which has a smooth bark. About a mile from Boone Station was a huge beech tree with the carved inscription “D. Boon Cilled (killed) a. Bar (Bear) on tree in the year 1760″. I understand the old tree died in the early 1900’s and I have seen the site where it stood; a photo was made while it was still standing and is on display at the Washington County courthouse in Jonesborough. I’ve heard that Boone Station was a stagecoach stop-over where passengers could get meals and a bed before continuing their journeys. It is located near CSX railroad tracks but I doubt it was ever used as a train stop. It is located about three miles (6.5 km) from where I was born and raised. Not far from it on Boones creek is a small waterfall behind which Boone hid from Cherokee Indians who were tracking him. The falls are too small at present to hide behind but when I was a boy, I sometimes played there and pretended to be Boone fighting the savages. Sited a mile farther on down the creek near Flourville where it mingles its waters with the Watauga River, was the home of the first white child born in what was then known as the Southwest Territory. The first capitol of the territory was located near Johnson City. There is a lot of American history in my area.
—-
Have a splendiferous Thursday!

Published in: on March 17, 2011 at 11:19 am  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://looselaces.wordpress.com/2011/03/17/books-and-boone/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. So it was a station for the passengers of the stagecoaches. I can imagine it. I watched a lot of westerns when I was a little girl and a teenager. What is now here? Coffee house? It’s amazing how well you know the past of these places where you were born and raised. 🙂
    I wonder if masons are still among us in our contemporary world. “The Lost Symbol” seems to be very interesting novel.

    • Boone Station is converted into apartments. I think I recall it being a country grocery store many years ago. Once upon a time I wanted to be the official Washington County Historian so I learned as much as I could about it. Someone with more political pull got the position.
      Masons are stronger than ever, especially in the U.S. I know many of them and most towns, even very small ones, have a Masonic temple.
      Thanks, my friend. 🙂

  2. Good ole Daniel has a lots of places claimed to him in our neck of the woods.

    Masons are still big all over the US. I know a few of them.

    • Ol’ Dan’l sure got around; he is well know in Carolina, Tenn., Kentucky, Virginia, and Missouri.
      You probably know more Masons than you think; many of them don’t advertise that they are members.
      Thanks, Mark.

  3. Oh yeah. I forgot about Dan Brown. His books are good read at their worst. Lots of research goes into his novels. Its almost like work.

    • To say the truth, his facts about D.C. and the Masons overpowered his story; but he does know what he writes about.


Leave a Reply

