HA!!!


Male robin

I ain’t much on premonitions, but I had a feeling I was going to see  a robin today. I went into the office, opened the blinds, then sat and watched for awhile; the sky is mostly overcast but the world has an impending springtime look to it. After a few minutes, I saw them; a pair in a tree across the street. In just a moment they dropped to the ground and began the hunt which was very successful, it seems; leaves were being flipped and bugs and worms were being eaten.  I grabbed the Pentax and went on the porch where I was able to shoot he pair from long distance at a grainy ISO 400. I brought the camera back to the pc and took a look at the results; not very good but not terrible under the circumstances. As I was about to upload one to the blog, I turned and again looked to see if maybe I had one closer, stalking in my yard. Sure enough, there was. I put the card back into the camera and once more hobbled to the door, this time I was afraid to go onto the porch because early birds are skittish. I made a few shots through the glass and the one above is typical, shot at ISO 200; it is a huge crop. The most unusual thing about the robins is the pair across the street were male and female and they stayed together. In normal circumstances, the males always arrive here about two weeks prior to the females, and begin establishing their mating territories. So, I have learned something new this year and the last worsh day in January has turned out well.

Published in: on January 31, 2011 at 10:28 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://looselaces.wordpress.com/2011/01/31/ha/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Happy day! So glad you got to see a robin this day. I guess that means my robin-filled days are nearing the end till next year. They have such a happy song. be well.

  2. Do not any robins stay with you? I figured some of those that winter in Cuba and other islands might summer in Fl. Anyway, I will keep an eye on them and by Sept. they will be back to you fat and sassy.
    Thanks, Tammy.

  3. It’s a promise of early spring, I think. The bird is beautiful, and it was a great work to make this photo. I hope some of robins will be still with Tammy in Florida. Very nice English word:’skittish’; quite new for me. … early birds are skitish. So nice phrase. 🙂
    It’s still so cold in my country. Be well, my American friends!

    • Supposed to turn cold and snow some more this week, but the change is coming.
      Poland will soon feel the effects of the advancing sun, too; can’t be winter forever … I hope.
      Thanks, Jola 🙂

  4. I have been seeing flocks of whatever they were flying around in the area so things are on the upswing. I suspect they may stay around here for a while as their summer homes are still getting hammered by snow. Works for me. Hearing birds sing is great except at 5 a.m. 🙂

    • Usually gets light around 5:45am in late spring and early summer. We have a wren that roosts on the porch and begins his serenading outside our bedroom at that time. Love it!

  5. I’ve yet to see a robin in summer in Florida. But the Kytes (sp?) come in the middle of summer and they are a joy to watch soaring in the sky with their piercing song. They ride the thermals as if they were waves. It is a fun sight to watch on a hot summer’s day. My wrens are thinking about building a nest in the same place as last year (the plant right outside my window). If they do I’ll have to camp out at night to keep the babies safe. Any suggestions? I’ve seen the 2 of them bringing in fluff, cat hair, and bits of hay in for nesting material. Haven’t seen too many robins in the past couple days. I have lots of doves right now though along with wrens, finches, cardinals, titmouse, chickadees… Oh and I did have a painted bunting last week which was a real treat. I’ll send you a photo via email of one of my newest visitors…. be well on Tuesday.

    • We don’t have very many kites here, if any. We do have swallows that feed of the evenings on flying bugs and they are a joy to watch but almost impossible to get a decent photograph of them in action.

      Papa wren will build several nests and allow mama to choose the one she likes best; the ones she don’t like are quickly dismantled in her furious rebuke. I don’t have a clue as to how tp protect them from other critters, but if the same nest robber is still around this year, he almost bound to strike again. We always have about a dozen doves all year around. I rarely see a painted bunting here; there used to be many along with baltimore orioles. The finches should soon be back, along with the towhees.

      Thanks for the photos; I will attempt to post a couple of them tomorrow if my brain still works.

      Thanks, Tammy.


Leave a Reply

