Chili supper


A big mouth requires a big spoon

Published in: on December 19, 2010 at 6:19 pm  Comments (8)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://looselaces.wordpress.com/2010/12/19/chili-supper/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I want chili!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

    • I hope you have a chance very soon to get some of Carolyn’s chili.

  2. I made chili last week interestingly enough. I’ll bet Carolyn’s chili is yummy. And it is so good with just about everything.

    • Hi Tammy, Carolyn made a huge stock pot full of chili; my relatives seem to multiply when she makes it. The crackers in the pic are not mine; I use saltines. Hope you have a peaceful week… Thanks, my friend.

  3. I remember your story about cooking of chili. Actually I don’t know chili and I haven’t eaten such meal yet. Beans, small peppers and tomato sauce? It seems to be delicious. 🙂

  4. Hi Jola,

    Chili is a Mexican dish which is very popular in the Americas. There are many recipes on the net, but below are the ingredients Carolyn uses. Being you have never had this dish, it may be best if you go lightly on the hot ingredients at first try. I prefer stewing-beef pieces instead of ground beef. A very cold drink such as beer, coca-cola, etc. is mandatory. My favorite way of preparing chili is to simmer it for 24 hours, slowly adding the jalapeños in the last few hours, then allowing it to cool to room temperature and then storing it in the refrigerator until the next day. It is a great winter dish, but is eaten year around. I like saltine crackers with mine, but soup crackers and others will work also. Be very careful with the jalapeños because I don’t want to cause an international incident; they are potent! 😉

    Ground beef, chopped onion, chopped green pepper, tomato paste, tomato sauce, chili pepper, cayenne pepper, kidney beans (dark red and light red), vinegar, Tabasco sauce, salt, black pepper, crushed red peppers (hot), a small amount of sugar if desired, jalapeño pepper if desired, cubed tomatoes if desired. Carolyn does not use a recipe; she puts it together and I sample it and she adjusts it until I like it.

    Thanks, my friend. 🙂

  5. It’s lovely that you’re cooking together! Wonderful recipe. So many details. Thanks, my friend. 🙂 I will try to prepare chili also for my family.

    • Carolyn does the cooking and I am the guinea pig that has to test it. 😉


Leave a Reply

