Wilbur


Nothing of import happening in my world. We drove around the countryside for a bit yesterday as I was hoping to find something to shoot at. Even Wilbur is mostly boring this time of year. I noticed the bufflehead ducks were back from wherever they spend the warm months, and I saw two small flocks of brave hen turkeys along the road to Watauga Dam. They will probably be safe from dining tables as long as they remain on the reservation. Wildlife is adapting to human intrusion, but I fear it will be their final downfall.
—-
I did not get one pic.
—-
Have a Sunday!
—-

Published in: on November 21, 2010 at 12:27 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://looselaces.wordpress.com/2010/11/21/wilbur/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You seem to be sad. Please, smile, my friend. Wilbur can’t be boring. Think about Polish severe winter. It’s coming, nevertheless we must live here, in a bit eastern and a bit northern Europe. Oh, think also about all these heavy clothes we must wear now. I hate coldness and I like to be contrary, so I bought today a new pair of jeans; American brand “Wrangler”. The best brand in the world! I had such jeans even when was communism. We couldn’t go abroad, but we liked everything what was from this second world, western world, democratic world, a world where was freedom.
    O, yes, communism was rather taught experience.
    Have a good afternoon. πŸ™‚

    • Wilbur was as beautiful and as timeless as always with more water bird species than in summer, but they all shied away from people. Even the geese were not looking for handouts. The small buffleheads are hard to shoot without a big lens. It will be better there as spring nears. Wrangler is a good brand of jeans and take a lot of abuse. American brand jeans seem to be popular worldwide.

      Thanks, Jola. πŸ™‚

  2. IT would be so interesting to sit down w/ Jola and share some wine and listen to her stories. I’ll bet we would all be humbled. Levi’s are good jeans also Jola if you can find them. I’ll cross my fingers for the turkeys. I went to my organic farm yesterday and picked up my meat/eggs. The farmhand was keeping a raccoon out back in a cage. I asked him what for and … you guessed it…. it is his Thanksgiving supper. I have heard of such things but never met someone who ate a raccoon on purpose, have you? yikes. Made me feel like a real white girl it did. Be well my friend.

    • I have known of ‘coons being eaten, but it is one of the hill traditions that I am happy to say is about gone. My grandmother’s favorite wild meat was opossum and she also like ground hog. I used to hunt small critters, but now I see it as murder unless it is a ‘have-to’ case.

      Thanks, Tammy. πŸ™‚

  3. Quiet Sunday here also. Sometimes they are like that. At least the weather had pretty darn nice. Rare to have temps in the upper 60’s low 70’s this time of year.

    I got no shots this weekend. Sometimes the vibe is just not there.

    • Yesterday was gorgeous here with temps in the late 60s. I need to find some new shooting grounds.

      Thanks, Mark. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

